okie dokie

This is a favorite of mine from when I was little, my dad always made steamed artichokes with lemon sauce. They never failed me until one time, I pulled off a leaf, and there was a dead bug on it. I screamed and ran to the bathroom about to throw up, tears streaming down my face like a lunatic. I was a stable child.

With artichokes, it’s about five minutes prep, and the rest steaming.

photo 1 (11)
First off, get a large pot with a lid, and a basket steamer. With the basket steamer in the pot, fill it with enough water to hit just below the steamer. Bring the water to a boil while you’re prepping the artichokes.

Take each artichoke and slice the stem off, leaving about 1/4″ from the base.

photo 2 (11)

Take scissors and cut the pointy tip of each leaf off so you don’t stab yourself like I do.

photo 3 (11)

Cut off approximately 1/2″-1″ of the top of the artichoke, and spread out the petals.

photo 4 (11)

Drizzle the tops of the artichokes with olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper

photo 5 (11)

Place artichokes stem side down in the steamer basket, and cover the pan with a lid. Let the water simmer and steam the artichokes until the stem is fork tender, or you can pull a leaf from the center easily. Depending on how many artichokes you are cooking at a time, they cook in about 25-30 minutes. I usually just let mine go until I’m done cooking everything else, I don’t think they can be ruined very easily.

photo 3 (9)

The sauce I make to dip the leaves in is what my parents always served with our artichokes. I don’t normally like to use prepared condiments with lots of ingredients unless I can’t make my own substitute, but mayonnaise, especially vegenaise, is not something I can easily replicate. Take some vegenaise in a small bowl, squeeze lemon juice to taste, and add salt and pepper to your liking. Mix and dip. It’s not the healthiest, but it’s a childhood favorite that I like to indulge in every once in awhile.

photo 5 (9)

I hate salad. When I go to a restaurant where I can actually eat something OTHER than a salad, I lose my mind. But I do eat a small green salad every night. I DO like mixed greens with a simple balsamic vinaigrette, but that’s about all you’re gonna get from me in that department. There are way too many things to eat beside salad.

photo 2 (10)

Mashed potatoes are like, my specialty. I make them for every Thanksgiving our family has, which is for usually around 40 people. I don’t normally stray from my basic russet, butter, milk salt and pepper, but with these ones I try and make it a little more healthy. The types of potatoes don’t really matter, I get these in a mixed bag at Trader Joe’s, and the purple potatoes make the color a little unnerving, but I’ve gotten past that.  They taste great, what do I care what they look like?

garlic potatoes

You don’t need as much garlic as I have to get a good flavor, I like to go overboard with garlic as much as possible, it’s my most favorite food ever.

photo 2 (9)

I would suggest two-three small potatoes per person, and adjust the garlic to your specific tastes. The amounts in the recipe will be for eight small potatoes, or four servings.

photo 1 (10)

Cut the potatoes into small, uniform sized pieces. Add potatoes and enough cold water to cover them by an inch to a sauce pan. Boil the potatoes until fork tender. Drain potatoes and add them to a large mixing bowl. Combine potatoes with chopped garlic, plus two tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper to taste, and two tablespoons vegetable broth. Mash potatoes, adding more broth if they’re not creamy enough. I don’t like too many lumps, so I mix mine pretty good. All the skins are still in them, so it’s not entirely smooth.

photo 3 (10)photo 4 (10)

If you don’t like mashed potatoes, or absurd amounts of garlic, I suggest you stay far away from my blog. The farro is left over from yesterday, but I cooked it in vegetable broth, with onion powder and garlic powder, salt and pepper.

photo 5 (10)

I always make double of everything to ensure Michael and I both have lunch for the next day, and all of these are good reheated the next day. It also tastes delicious while watching King of the Hill.

Good evening, and good eating.

3 comments
  1. I will add the nutritional information on the meal later tonight! I was falling asleep writing this last night haha

  2. i love artichokes! so much work for such a little amount of goodness, but so worth it! 🙂 i love purple potatoes too!!!!!

    • They’re so worth it!!! And the purple potatoes make me feel like I’m eating something totally exotic but still familiar, they’re great!

Leave a Reply

