tofu mofo

tofu flag

We are tired of your abuse!

I tried to get my mom and boyfriend to help me come up with a better post title, but they suck so I used my original idea.

bruzzer

(Bruzzer eating the leaves on my broccoli! He loved it, and had more for breakfast this morning!)

Dinner was as easy weeknight meal that’s easily refrigerated for lunch left overs:

finished on platetofu

Balsamic marinated tofu, with roasted broccoli and barley.

sprouted tofu

I use this awesome tasting organic sprouted tofu from Trader Joe’s, of course! It’s fresh tasting and non-GMO soy, which makes me worry less about the soy products I buy and eat.

halfsfourths

Slice your tofu into thin steaks. I cut mine into fourths.

tofu blanket

Press your tofu, however you tackle that. I use kitchen towels, and my heavy pizza stone.

pizza stone

While your tofu is pressing, make your marinade.

ingredients2

Combine 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 tbsp agave nectar, 1 tbsp soy sauce, the juice from half a lemon, salt and pepper to taste, red pepper flakes, 3 cloves chopped garlic, and 1 tsp grated fresh ginger in a shallow baking or casserole dish with a whisk.

marinade

Lay tofu steaks in marinade and swirl pan around to coat all visible surfaces of tofu. Leave the dish in the fridge for at least half an hour, and up to over night. The longer you let it sit, the more flavor the tofu takes on. Do not discard the remaining marinade after soaking, save it to reduce for the balsamic glaze.

marinating tofu

Either heat a grill pan or saute pan over medium high heat, or turn your griddle on to a medium high temperature. Place tofu steaks on your heating surface and grill until browned, then flip and grill other side.

grilling tofu

Heat remaining marinade in a small sauce pan, over medium heat. Reduce until thickened and syrupy. This should be done right after the steaks go on the pan, as it takes awhile to reduce into a glaze.

balsamic reduction

To cook barley, boil a large pot of water or vegetable broth (I used a combination of both). I added salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders, and paprika to the broth mixture. Add barley to the pot and boil until tender, about 10-12 minutes.

barley brothboiling barley

Once done, drain and season with more salt and pepper.

drained barley

Barely doesn’t soak up much moisture, so it’s hard to season. It’s best to add your seasonings before and after cooking to ensure a good flavor, but even if yours tastes a little plain, it will be coated in the balsamic glaze later and be a great vessel for that strong flavor.

barley on plate (1)

Serve barley under the tofu, and drizzle with balsamic reduction.

tofu on plate

To make the broccoli, or any roasted vegetable really, heat your oven to 450 degrees.

oven temp

Cut your broccoli into bite sized stalks.

chopped broccoli

Spread out on a baking sheet, and drizzle with olive oil and the juice of half a lemon, and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

tossed broccoli

Roast in the oven until the tips are brown and crispy, stirring with a spatula at least once to create even browning.

This roasting technique can literally be used for like, EVERY vegetable. I rarely steam veggies anymore, and default to roasting when I’m making a side dish, or something I’m going to add to pasta. My favorites are broccoli, asparagus, cauliflower, Brussels, potatoes, and carrots. The most common seasonings I use are salt and pepper, red pepper flakes, with olive oil and lemon juice, but sometimes with potatoes and carrots, I will add rosemary and thyme or oregano instead of the lemon juice, it compliments the earthy tones better than the tangy citrus.

I had a fun time talking with my mom and drinking some cheap white wine, and I really love this tofu cold for lunch the next day. And hey, look at that, it also fits the “bean, green, grain” mold, with tofu serving as the protein (bean), broccoli as the green, and barley as the whole grain. It’s super filling, and can serve a lot of people, or just one if you’re cooking for yourself.

If you make this, please let me know your thoughts on it, and any suggestions please!!! All feedback is wanted, good or bad!

2 comments
  1. krystal said:

    I love this. Been looking for it cuz I love that balsamic glaze/marinade!

Leave a Reply

