power packed pasta

I make this sauce once a week normally, and I’ve made it for friends to show how vegan pasta doesn’t get boring or repetitive, because you can use any vegetables you have around, and add any greens, and beans for added protein.

For tonight’s mix, I used carrots, celery, onion, garlic, kale, crushed tomatoes, and cannelinni beans, it’s full of nutrients and vitamins, plus it’s super good and makes an awesome leftover lunch, which I’m already excited about eating tomorrow. (yes, really)

Image

(Serves 4) Ingredients:

one onion

four carrots

8 stalks of celery

8 cloves of garlic

two cups of kale

one 28 oz can of crushed or diced tomatoes

one cup plus extra vegetable broth

olive oil

salt and pepper

red pepper flakes

optional: fresh thyme and basil (I had these in my fridge and usually add them whenever I have them, it adds a great depth of flavor to the sauce)

Image

Saute garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil until fragrant, about 30 seconds

Image

Add your mirepoix (celery, carrots and onion), and salt and pepper. If using fresh herbs, add them now.

Chop the thyme to release the flavor, and chop basil.

Image

Image

attack of the GIANT basil leaves, they smell so good!

Cook for a few minutes, until onions are translucent.

Image

 

Image

this is my archaic can opener that HATES opening large cans, it takes foreverrrrrr!

Image

Add one cup of vegetable broth, and can of tomatoes, plus one can of cannellini beans if using them.

Image

Add kale to pot, and stir to combine.

Image

If the sauce is not wet enough to incorporate kale, add more vegetable broth.

Image

Cover and cook on medium until carrots are fork tender.

 

photo 1

Serve over whole wheat penne!

photo 5

I love to eat this pasta with a side of toasted bread to use to scoop up all the rest of the sauce in the bowl, but since I’m trying to be a good girl I’m just having my usual mixed baby greens salad, but please eat all the carbs for me.

This is a really filling pasta, and it’s perfect to make a big pot and save some sauce, freeze it, and reheat in a pan another time if you’re making fresh pasta (I usually just keep leftover pasta for lunch it doesn’t stay very well in my fridge haha).

It’s an easy fridge cleaner, too. Add whatever you’ve got! Bell peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, any vegetables you have you need to use up.

As always, please let me know if you end up making this, and any comments or suggestions about the recipe are more than welcome!

Pasta luego xxx

 

 

NON FOOD RELATED EDIT::::

 

I went to the pinball hall of fame with my old friend Taylor who’s in town visiting tonight, and I played my favorite Dr Who pinball game :)))))

3

he said I need to get out more because I started doing my cats voices when we weren’t even at my house with the cats….

Leave a Reply

